Tomatillo aka Salsa Verde

At our house homemade salsa is king! We have dreams of one day selling our salsas, so I can’t share all our salsa recipes with you BUT I can share this delicious tomatillo salsa recipe with you. As big Top Chef fan’s we are familiar with Rick Bayless. The salsa that man puts out in jars (sold at Costplus and other retailers) is absolutely delicious! I’m a sucker for tomatillo salsa so when we unearthered his recipe for tomatillo we just had to give it a try. Keeping with the theme of recipes I have recently posted, this recipe is also ridiculously easy! At some point I may try it Rick’s way with roasting the tomatillos….

The recipe I have posted is an adaptation of Bayless’ recipe found heretomatillo salsa Creative Crops

Ingredients

3 – 4 medium tomatillos, husked & rinsed
1 or 2 serrano peppers OR 1 jalepeno – stemmed
2 large garlic cloves, peeled
6 sprigs of fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
1/2 small white onion, finely chopped
salt

Directions

Combine the pepper(s), tomatillos, cilantro and garlic in a blender and blend to a course puree.

Stir the onion into the salsa and season with salt (about 1/2 tsp).

Grab some chips & enjoy!!

Tomatillo Salsa Creative Crops

2 responses to this post.

  1. I love tomatilla salsas! Do you know where I can buy some tomatillas? (In London) I want to give this a try!

    Reply

    • To be honest I don’t – I see them in my food stores seasonally – usually in the summer BUT stumbled across this bunch the week of New Year’s so I’m not sure if it was a delivery gone awry or if they’re in season in another country but it’s really hit or miss when we find them. I’d ask your grocer and see if they have any ideas 🙂 Best!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

