Winter Crop Share Week 3 Report

Having a week off of the share for Thanksgiving was a welcome break! It gave us some time to use up ingredients we had hanging around and give our fridge a nice thorough cleaning. Now that the holiday season is in full swing it seems that our kitchen is turning out more baked items than traditionally cooked items so I’ll be sure to share those successes and failures as quick as I can! I cannot say this enough but with our social schedule jam-packed having a smaller share has really helped us prevent waste!

What we received:

– Eggplant
– Onions
– Carrots
– Beets
– Apple Cider
– Tangelos

Upcoming Meals:

As a child raised in the early 1990’s when I think of beets the first thought that pops into my head is of the cartoon Doug, which prominently featured the band, The Beets!. Unfortunately for me, Doug did not include recipes only songs, so while I cannot get their catchy tunes out of my head I’m trying to find some recipes that will turn us on to the beets in our basket. Family has told me that they find beets to be delicious and sweet so I am going on the hunt for something that will highlight the sweet side of beets. Of course, details shall be posted!

The carrots and onions are going to be used in a stew, or chili. With colder temperatures starting to arrive it is officially soup, stew and chili season (oh yes, and cold season too!). Putting these great fresh ingredients in the stews and soups is a delicious and noticeable difference from their frozen (or dare I say canned) counterparts.

The tangelos have been an interesting inclusion in the basket. Part of the lure of this share was that it was local, which is a term I use loosely as many farms are from the surrounding states. The tangelos are from Florida. I enjoy getting citrus in winter but I’m not sure that it really what I’m looking for from this share…. I have enjoyed eating them but I’m just wishing they stuck to more winter crops from the general states that surround us, we live in Virginia so PA, MD, VA, NJ, NY, maybe even Ohio, and WV and NC wouldn’t be bad places to get crops from but Florida just seems too far. That is what I thought about as I ate my tangelo at breakfast this morning, so food for thought – when you sign up for a crop-share and expect local produce how do you feel when your produce isn’t as local, or even regional, as you expected?

Final thoughts – good week for crops, great week for baking, delicious meals shall be served in our home! Sorry for the late post everyone, hope you enjoyed!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by whit on December 7, 2011 at 8:38 am

    Loved the Doug reference, although Schrute Farms in PA also produces some nice beets 🙂

    Reply

  2. Hey Allison! I’m new to your blog and just wanted to stop by with a quick hello – I’m also one of the lucky recipients of your lime cookies (which are awesome, by the way!). Definitely going to be sad when the last one gets eaten – which may even happen tonight =) Thanks again!

    Reply

    • Hi Peggy!! I’m SO delighted to hear that you liked the lime cookies! They were a big big hit in my house too, with only a few left. So glad you enjoyed them and they arrived safely, I was worried they wouldn’t. YAY! Thanks again for stopping by!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

