Fall Crop Share Week 5 Report

Happy Halloween everyone! This was the last week of our Fall crop-share, so it felt fitting to post this on Halloween as we start to transition from Fall into Winter, even though it definitely snowed here over the weekend. We do have a late Fall/early Winter crop-share ahead of us for another 5 or 6 weeks which should be a good time. I really enjoyed the Fall crop-share. I have said it before and I’ll say it again – the hardier produce is great for storage and shelf-life and really adds a nice depth to many recipes. Not having to worry about the crops spoiling as quickly is a really great bonus. To date the farm we go through only offers a ‘large’ crop-share, which for our family of 2 is a bit too much in the spring and summer when the produce needs to be used up quickly. The winter crop-share allowed us to sign up for only a peck of produce, which should be a better quanity for a small family like ours. In the summer I would anticipate a peck being a much better amount for us, the Winter shall steer us in the right direction I’m sure! Now, onto the details of our final Fall share…

What we received:
– Broccoli
– Onions
– Celery
– Carrots
– Apples – baking and eating varieties!
– White Potatoes
– Cabbage
– Cider (welcome treat!)
– A pumpkin
– Tomatoes!

Our Plans: 

Baking season is in full swing in our home. The apples from last week and this week will be made into apple fritters and apple pie(s). We have the recipes lined up and ready to go and really cannot wait to cook them up! I don’t know how y’all feel about baked apple products but I absolutely love them. A really good apple pie is my favorite dessert, served a la mode of course!

The celery, carrots, potatoes and onions were actually used over the weekend in a delicious stew. It was a Guinness beef stew, and I am sure you will all love it as much as we did! It was a perfect meal for the cold snowy day on Saturday. The ingredients were perfect in it, and we were lucky to get them through the crop-share this week!

There is a great summer cabbage salad that I make, so I plan to use the head of cabbage for that actually. I know it is out of season but we haven’t had that salad in months so it will be a nice meal to remind us of warmer days! The tomatoes were also a great surprise to us. Apparently, a local farm uses a greenhouse to grow out of season produce in the cold months and thus we have tomatoes. There really is little else as special as seeing nice red tomatoes on your counter in October. Tomatoes are also one of my favorites, so I look forward to having that fresh, local taste in some dishes this week! I plan to use the broccoli as usual – steamed as a side-dish. Broccoli is one of my all-time favorite veggies, I think I could all of it as-is if given the opportunity, BUT I’ll share it steamed with my husband since he fancies that vegetable too!

I think the Fall crop-share went out on a good note. We looked in our basket this week and found lots of items we were excited to cook with and had plans for. It was a great week, made a lot of new recipes and we cannot wait for some more Winter produce in the next crop-share. Recipes and other fun will be posted soon! Thanks for sticking with me through the Fall crop-share, I look forward to sharing my Winter crops with y’all!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by whit on October 31, 2011 at 10:08 am

    Haha, sharing is caring…. very nice of you to split up the Broccoli 🙂
    As for the Guinness Stew… yummmm

    Reply

Leave a Reply

