Fall Crop Share Week 4 Report

Well we have hit the one month mark for the Fall crop-share! So far so good. Again, the Fall crops that we are receiving are definitely interesting and different. The Fall crop-share more than the summer crop-share is definitely making us stretch our produce comfort zone, in a good way though. We were asked by the crop-share provider to keep an open mind to the veggies included this week so it seems like we will not be the only family going a bit out of our ‘normal’ produce range.

What we have:
– Cranberries
– Apples (stayman variety)
– Hard Squash
– Cauliflower
– Brussel Sprouts
– Potatoes
– Onions
– Turnips
– Spinach

Our Plans:
Ok, everyone is thinking about it so I’ll start with the elephant in the room – brussel sprouts. What in the world are we going to do with brussel sprouts? I have no idea and I wish I did. I have never even sampled a brussel sprout before never the less cook with one so I am really at a loss for what our plans are for this one. I’m going to page through as many recipes I can find and find something that sounds appealing and just dive right in! Since I’ve never had them I don’t want to pre-judge them, so I’m trying to keep an open mind and be adventurous with these guys.

We still haven’t done anything with the turnips from last week so now that we have a few more in our possession we will be able to turn out one or maybe even two great dishes to sample. A recipe hunt is also on for the turnips!

I actually really enjoy cauliflower so I’m excited to have this. I may try it in a pasta/Italian themed dish. They gave us quite a large crown of cauliflower so there may be some fried cauliflower in order too – you can’t go wrong with something fried!

At this point we are elbow deep in both onions and potatoes. I think the week ahead will feature both of these items as much as humanly possible. It has to be done – there are just too many darn potatoes and onions around here right now! I’m not exactly sure how we are going to use them all, or most of them but here are the highlights of what I was thinking: Potato pancakes (should use at least 2 – 3 potatoes, hopefully more), boiled potatoes with steak, Chili (to use some onions), onion rings if it’s nice enough to do burgers one evening, a chunkier pasta sauce that’s heartier in veggies including onions…. I’ll need some more ideas to use the remainders up so I may shift my turnip and brussel sprout focus to really emphasize any recipe that includes potatoes or onions.

Fall has been fun cooking-wise so far.  We have started honing in on some meals that are able to be prepared ahead just to account for our lack of wanting to cook for hours after a busy day of work. There are quite a few that we have come up with that can be semi-started over the weekend then finished when it’s time to actually cook and consume them and we have done a few casseroles that allow us to make large enough portions that we cook now and freeze for later saving us time down the road. We also have quite a collection of apples so I do believe that some apple-focused treats are in order in the very near future. I love Fall, that’s certainly no secret, and the crop-share has made Fall a really fun time for cooking and trying new recipes and produce!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Samantha F. on October 24, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    You should make cauliflower purée with golden raisins and capers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

